Technical knowledge requirement for a cloud PM with no technical background

I’ve been fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to work as a PM for a cloud provider. However, I have no experience working in the space, neither do I have the cloud-specific technical knowledge. I really want to do well at this new job and would love to hear your advice. What are the technical concepts, readings, or courses that you’d recommend? The goal is being able to understand the pain points of users. People used to tell me as a PM, one does not need to get too technical. But for cloud, I want to be able to empathize with the users, which means I have to understand the technical side of things. Is there a good bootcamp/series of online classes that will teach less about the weeds of coding but rather the big pictures of how things come together. I find system designs a little bit too macro while python courses online are too micro. I appreciate all your inputs. Thank you!

5 Likes

I would personally not take a cloud role if you don’t have a technical background. It’s a fast moving space and the details matter a lot.

But to actually answer your question, I would start by going through Cloud Guru (pick a stack, probably AWS) and go through the basics of whatever product(s) most align with your area.

4 Likes