How should a product roadmap be written?

I’m a novice in the field of product management, and I’m responsible for writing the product roadmap. Can someone kindly give me some advice on how to proceed? To what extent are the details to be covered? It would be quite helpful if you could offer some templates.

13 Likes

I hate it when employers treat new PMs in this way. What are they genuinely hoping to accomplish with this?

What an absurd way to instruct someone, even as a thought exercise. “Go try something with no prior understanding about how to accomplish it or even where to begin.”

Here is a really high-level place to begin. Fill out each project (epic) with whatever pertinent information you may have based on the prioritized lists of projects your team hopes to complete over the course of the next six months or more, broken down by quarter. If your firm hasn’t already defined an epic, there should be some templates available online.

12 Likes

Isn’t researching and navigating through ambiguity the most important skills a PM should possess? A quick Google search should yield a wealth of information. The OP’s article here is another example of how to deal with uncertainty. Although I wouldn’t say it’s the best practise, a PM shouldn’t be surprised by it.

12 Likes

Personally, I think it’s becoming a profession-wide tendency to set individuals up for failure.

To behave as though we all had it figured out on Day 1 doesn’t augur well for the future of product management because we ALL had to start someplace.

Recent readers of this sub will see a growing trend of folks who are absolutely burned out and seeking new roles. Furthermore, there is a culture of PMs failing upward in our organisation. taking on a role and then, when they weren’t even successful in the first role, moving on to a better role as quickly as feasible. creating generations of PMs who are essentially just acting the part for about a year at a time.