How do you set OKRs for and measure 'quality of life' metrics?

I am a Product Manager at an EdTech company. Our main OKR for the Product and Engineering organization is average 1st month user activity (which serves as a good overall indicator in our current stage I think).

I have broken OKRs further down for my team already around ease of content creation and learning. These objectives were relatively straightforward to quantify into metrics.

User Research, however, indicates that many of our users’ pain points/requests currently lean more towards users’ ability to organize and structure the content they are creating.

I find it now hard to create quantifiable metrics around content organization. Also estimating the potential impact of ‘organization features’ on user activity is tricky, compared to other potential features we could work on.

The only metric I have so far is from a recently set up regular user metric survey, in which ‘ease of organising’ is a question. But we only run this survey every three months. And I am wondering if there is something we could work towards and measure success against while iterating and experimenting.

Any recommendations or best practices on how you keep track of impact on these more ‘fuzzy’ kind of product areas? Where there are no clear conversion funnels to optimize for?

Thanks!

7 Likes

Perhaps apply concepts of process management to this? Your key result is that you cut down the clicks/time to accomplish [task] by x%.

What metrics do you have for ease of creation and learning? Couldn’t you apply the same metrics for ease of organization and structuring?

7 Likes

@Priya, For ease of creation I can track the quantity of content created per user as metric. And for learning the time spent and progress made on different learning modes.

6 Likes