Do you have to be a people person to be a product manager?

I’m a marketing manager at my company with about 2 years of experience, I’m thinking of eventually transitioning into product management later in my career since I don’t see myself progressing into a more tech intensive role.

The main problem though is that I struggle with making deep connections with people outside work, but I can work with anyone really well and I don’t mind arguing with people and talking for long periods of time in meetings.

14 Likes

You need to be able to empathize. If you can’t, you’ll find the job difficult. It’s critical.

Not sure if that fits into your definition of people person.

Less critical things like being able to talk to users or their representatives, being able to give a good elevator pitch, presenting skills, being able to ELI5, being able to wrangle and keep the focus of a few engineers. These make being a PM easier for sure. But you can learn or not be naturally great at them and still get by.

13 Likes

@LawrenceMartin, do you have any tips for empathizing with people? I’m good at empathizing on a user level which I already do as a front-end dev. But I’m someone who has mild social anxiety so I’m always worried if I said something awkward/hurtful because of my natural tendency to be very blunt and straightforward.

I can give good speeches most of the time (unless I’m feeling really down) but I’m often bad at storytelling. I can repeat the same speech though multiple times and don’t get irritated that much when I have to explain myself to people over and over again.

12 Likes