Creative freedom in early stage startups for PMs?

Hi all, recently I participated in a panel with other PMs from early-stage startup. Funny (and sad) thing, most of us faced the same struggles and frustrations because the top management treats the product team as a feature/delivery team. I noticed that early-stage companies with an appointed CPO/Product VP didn’t have these issues.

Unfortunately, at my company we have this issue, the CEO and one of the Directors hold this role, and they have no intention to give it up. They have defined the company vision, around all the products/features they want to see, copy-pasted them into our roadmap, and they go as far as defining which product/feature we should deliver in the next Sprint.

I have never worked in such a place before, and I wasn’t able to find any article online that outlines how to shift and influence stakeholders’ mindset. I have the feeling that this topic is a taboo in the ecosystem.

Did anyone face any similar issues?

Super common challenge. And, at least for very early stage companies (say, pre-B but definitely pre-A)

I have a controversial opinion:
The founder/CEO should own the product vision. In fact, I think the opposite is a warning sign: where the founder that early wants to bring someone on to develop the vision for them. Yikes!

So what does a nominal head of product do?
Well, beyond all the PM-ish things (because you’re likely the only PM for a little while) it’s your chance to communicate the value of a Product perspective and set the stage for empowered teams: decompose the vision into objectives, shift the conversation from features to outcomes, frame every feature as a hypothesis and ensure there is adequate instrumentation/analytics to test and clear success criteria, bring in voice of customer, ensure that product releases are managed more holistically than just code going live.