Aspiring Product Manager needing advice

I am currently studying and live in the San Francisco Bay Area. Being someone who has grown up around technology my entire life, I’ve been really into the industry and have known for quite some time its what I have wanted to do.

Originally I was a Computer Science major but found I could not keep up with the course load and needed to regroup and find a new major. Now I am in marketing (and minoring in CS because I had enough credits from before). I still practice my coding skills on the side with python primarily and although not great by any means, its improving. I’ve seen as I have matured, that my brain works in a more creative way compared to incredibly difficult algorithms and equations (my adobe + spreadsheet skills > coding). With that being said I think it would actually be cool to have a unique look in this field and I’m honestly really excited to compete for a Product Manager Role at a tech company!

I have had two other internships under my belt now (both in tech but not PM Intern roles; one being a lab IT role and the other a business analytical and design role)… HOWEVER: I know that this type of position is different and after having not great luck so far in applications I was actually wondering what your best advice would be to be competitive for these kinds of positions (or other entry level ones that would help me get there eventually)!

8 Likes

Keep at it. I, in my anecdotal experiences, do agree with your statement that it’s hard to get luck and land a job as a junior product manager from a cold application. I find these positions are often filled with internal people from other departments. Tech to PM transition typically works well. I’ve seen a lot of customer support to PM transition which often works not as well (often it’s hard to understand that support is a cost center).