What do PMs leave companies?

Hi everybody,

I’m new to PMing, just a few months, but in this time frame the rather mature and large global company has dealt with a lot of attrition. I figure in this market, attrition is felt in many companies but what do you think are the top drivers of people getting burnt out and looking for a new PM role?

I’m hoping to find out more internally with some of the recent losses in PM specific roles but I’m already feeling the need to jump for more pay due to inflation but feeling like I need 1-2 years of experience to even consider that.

Interested on hearing everyone’s experiences and thoughts dealing with this over the last two years.

14 Likes

Well, I think it’s because the role is often not a real PM role including discovery but simply a PO role in a delivery team. Sometimes it is even PO + Project Management… That’s my little experience I shared. Let’s hear what the more experienced folks have to say.

13 Likes

It hurts how true this is. And good PMs can only do this for so long, even for good money, before they get bored of the feature factory and have to move on. Typically for a massive salary bump somewhere else.

12 Likes

This made my day. My boss called what I did for the past three months “not PM experience”. I’m sure he meant well but it is demoralizing when you are doing more than being simply a PO and you look like you’re not doing real pm work because the norms have gotten so distorted.

11 Likes

This and some of the other comments is so me right now. Leaving after only 1 year of experience but headed from a large, feature factory-esque, top-down company to a start up with a pay bump where I’d hopefully get to do more discovery and strategy work.

10 Likes

Often it’s PO / Project / Program Manager / Scrum Master but listed as Product Manager.

In Product, you either set the vision and work with others to execute it, or have it funneled from the top and you just execute it.